presented by douglas payne
biography | equipment records | performances | pictures | in print | more | thanks

International Youth Band
Newport Jazz Festival: July 5 and 7, 1958

Palle Bolvig, Roger Guerin, Dusko Gojkovic, Jose Magalhais (tp); Christian Kellens, Kurt Jarnberg, Erich Kleinschuster, Albert Mangelsdorff (tb); Hans Salomon, Wladimiro Bas Zabache (as); Bernt Rosengren, Jan Wroblewski (ts); Ronnie Ross (bs); George Gruntz (p); Gabor Szabo (g); Rudolph Jacobs (b); Gilberto Cuppini (d); Andy Marsala (as); Marshall Brown (dir).

a. Don't Wait For Me Henry (M. Brown/E. Shuman)
b. Don't Blame Me (Fields/McHugh)
c. Jazz Concerto For Alto Sax (J. LaPorta)
d. Too Marvelous For Words (Mercer/R. Whitling)
e. Swingin' The Blues (Durham/Basie)
f. Imagination (Burke/Van Heusen)
g. Newport Suite, Op. 24 (B. Russo)

Issues: a-g on Columbia CL-1246 (mono), Columbia CS-8073 (stereo), Philips (Hol) 840046BY.
Producer: Not Listed
Engineer: Not Listed
Notes: Not Listed

Most, if not all, of these performances were probably recorded on July 7, 1958. This group is listed as the "International Jazz Band" in the 1958 Newport Jazz Festival schedule [and as pictured on the sleeve of Philips [Hol] 840046BY]. Arrangements make it hard to detect Szabo's performance here except during a brief feature in "Imagination." According to the album's liner notes, this band debuted first on the Arthur Godfrey TV show and followed this performance with another TV show before touring.